Print this page

Social citizenship considered both trough the study of social protests and of the application of contemporary political theories (in particular, theories of justice)

The second consideration related to the broadening of the concept of citizenship aims at extending its limits not geographically, but conceptually; by reflecting, from both a normative and sociological point of view, on how to conceive and put into practice social citizenship. By “social citizenship” we mean – following Marshall and Robert Castel – the attribution of socio-economic rights, such as the right to social security.

Several studies are part of this area of research. They deal with the links between justice and responsibility and the different uses of the concept of responsibility. Other reflections will no longer focus on distributive justice but on different forms of reparative justice, especially when they are related to accidents at work or to the damages caused by past discriminations. Several researchers also continue to work on the concept of care and its recognition, on the boundaries between care and justice, and on the institutional expression of these boundaries. Finally, existing investigations, which focus on the controversy between social situations of injustice and the principles used to justify them, will be furthered.

These questions are at the heart of the long-term scientific cooperation that we have established with a network of researchers from the University of South California, United States, which revolves around the questions of “Global Justice” and promotes a critical and comparative approach of this notion. These questions also concern the cooperation between many researchers and laboratories from University Paris 8 and Paris Nanterre, in relation to the issue of spatial justice.




^

Imprimer

La citoyenneté sociale envisagée à la fois sous l’angle de l’étude des mouvements sociaux et sous celui d’une mise à l’épreuve des théories politiques contemporaines, en particulier des théories de la justice

La seconde problématique en matière l’élargissement de la citoyenneté vise à en étendre les cadres, non pas géographiquement, mais conceptuellement, en réfléchissant d’un point de vue à la fois normatif et sociologique sur les manières de concevoir et de pratiquer la citoyenneté sociale. Par « citoyenneté sociale » nous entendons, dans la perspective de Marshall ou de Robert Castel, l’attribution de droits socio-économiques, comme le droit à la sécurité sociale.

S’inscrivent dans cette perspective de travail du laboratoire un ensemble de travaux sur les liens entre justice et responsabilité, sur les différents usages de la notion de responsabilité. D’autres réflexions s’intéresseront non plus à la justice distributive mais à différentes formes de justice réparatrice, notamment lorsqu’elles concernent les accidents du travail, ou les torts occasionnés par les discriminations passées. Plusieurs chercheurs continuent également de s’interroger sur le care et sur sa reconnaissance, sur les frontières entre care et justice, et sur les traductions institutionnelles de ces frontières. Enfin, des recherches seront poursuivies sur les controverses autour de situations sociales d’injustice et les principes de justification qui sont alors mis en jeu.

Ces questions sont au cœur de la coopération scientifique durable que nous avons nouée avec un réseau de chercheurs de l’USC (University of Southern California, États-Unis) autour des questions de "Global Justice", pour une approche critique et comparative de cette notion. Elles concernent aussi la coopération menée avec divers chercheurs et laboratoires des universités Paris 8 et Paris Nanterre sur la problématique de la justice spatiale.




^